What are the parts of Sub-Saharan Africa?

How many regions are there in Sub-Saharan Africa?

The continent of Africa is commonly divided into five regions or subregions, four of which are in Sub-Saharan Africa . what regions mean: an area or division, especially part of a country or the world having definable characteristics but not always fixed boundaries. The five UN subregions:

What is the main language spoken in sub-Saharan Africa?

Three of the six dominant languages in Subsaharan Africa—spoken by at least ten million people or more—are spoken in Nigeria: Hausa, Yoruba, and Ibo. The three remaining major languages of Subsaharan Africa are Swahili, Lingala, and Zulu.

How many languages are spoken in Sub-Saharan Africa?

6 – Languages of sub-Saharan Africa.

What is the most spoken language in sub-Saharan Africa?

Top 10 Most Popular African Languages

  • SWAHILI. The most spoken language in Africa is Swahili which is said to have between 100 and 150 million speakers.
  • AMHARIC. Amharic is one of the main languages spoken in Ethiopia by over 20 million speakers.
  • OROMO.
  • Hausa.
  • IGBO.
  • ZULU.
  • SHONA.

What are the 5 regions of Sub-Saharan Africa?

With the return of Morocco decided on 30 January 2017, all African states are now members of the African Union. The 55 members are grouped into five geographic regions (North, South, West, East and Central).

How many regions are there in the African Union?

The five regions of the African Union. The five regions of the Confederation of African Football. The continent of Africa is commonly divided into five regions or subregions, four of which are in Sub-Saharan Africa .

What are the parts of Sub-Saharan Africa?

Landforms Ecologically separated from North Africa by the sweeping and sparsely populated Sahara Desert, the sub-Saharan mainland consists of four vast and distinct regions: Central Africa, East Africa, West Africa, and Southern Africa. Together, they constitute an area of 9.4 million square miles.

What is the difference between Sahara and Sub-Saharan Africa?

Sub-Saharan Africa is, geographically and ethnoculturally, the area of the continent of Africa that lies south of the Sahara. According to the United Nations, it consists of all African countries and territories that are fully or partially south of the Sahara.

Where is the Sahel region of Africa located?

The Sahel region stretches across Chad, Mauritania, Niger, Sudan, and Mali. It includes part of the Sahara desert, has a semi-arid climate, and separates Sub-Saharan Africa from North Africa. The savanna belt is south of the Sahel region.

Where are the Horn of Africa and sub Saharan Africa?

The Horn of Africa is a peninsula in East Africa that juts for hundreds of kilometers into the Arabian Sea, and lies along the southern side of the Gulf of Aden. It encompasses Ethiopia, Eritrea, Somalia and Djibouti. Sub-Saharan Africa is the area of the African continent which lies south of the Sahara.

How many countries are located in Sub-Saharan Africa?

54 countries
The UN Development Program lists 46 of Africa’s 54 countries as “sub-Saharan,” excluding Algeria, Djibouti, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Somalia, Sudan and Tunisia.

What is considered Sub-Saharan Africa?

Anywhere south of the desert is, geographically, “sub-Saharan”. The World Bank used to include both countries in sub-Saharan Africa, before moving Djibouti to the Middle East and North Africa in 2000. Meanwhile Eritrea, to the north of both of them, is considered sub-Saharan.

What is the climate of Sub-Saharan Africa?

Sub-Saharan Africa has a wide variety of climate zones or biomes. South Africa and the Democratic Republic of the Congo in particular are considered Megadiverse countries. It has a dry winter season and a wet summer season. The Sahel has a hot semi-arid climate.

Leave a Comment